The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

The author's letter that contains the complaint on the catering services of a particular company, to the school principal seem inept. Several assumptions and conclusions are made without proper evidences and thus, the letter becomes inherently flawed. Several loop holes and assumptions made should be addressed to conclude the facts. Without proper facts and evidences, the acceptance rate of the argument reduces.

On the first, the author is complaining that the Swift Nutrition would serve food with low calories and low fat that the children would not find it to be enjoyable. Here, what are the food that being catered by the Swift Nutrition food company is not stated. If this is stated, a bird-view calculation can be made that is the food really have low fat and low calories, and are they really making children disinterested to have food form that vendor?. Without this fact, concluding the statement that the children are not enjoying the food served by the company could not be accepted.

Secondly, the author is connoting the complaint made by her son, about the lunch options. Here too, what are the foods that are served during the lunch hours is not stated. Without this, the complaint on the lunch options does not make a sense. The author is also stating that if this continues, this would make the children bring their own lunches, that are unhealthy. In fact, the food that are low in calories and fat are the healthy foods. But, having not said the food options provided by the Swift Nutrition catering company, it would be very difficult to assert that the food is not enjoyable and are unhealthy.

The author is also stating that if this food catering company is not replaced in they near future, or it may cause serious health issues to the children. This assumption is futile, unless, the fact of the what are all the food options are provided to determine whether the food are healthy or not to end up with serious health issues.

Thus, in total, the author's claims though concerned about the children's health, the facts and statements provided in the letter to the principal makes it impotent to convince the reader. Still greater study has to be made to understand why the food is not enjoyable or is thought to be unhealthy before claiming the facts.