Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Government is a body, formed by the people of a nation and is to and for the people of the nation. It is the sole responsibility of such a body solve the current problems and help the society to lead a good life rather than anticipating the problems that may or may not occur in the future. Society expects the government to be pragmatic and take salubrious decisions to solve the problems. On the other hand the government also has to pay its attentions to the future problems to some extent, so that its severity can be reduced to some extent.

When a body is formed in the legislature, the first and foremost thing the body has to make is to list the existing problems and discuss on those issues the way to solve them. For example in the country such as India, the prevailing problem is unemployment and poverty. Main reason for poverty is unemployment. If unemployment is eradicated, the poverty will also be abolished. This is the biggest black spot to the nation which makes the country still a "developing nation". The unemployment has to be eradicated by giving proper employment opportunities to all depending on their skill sets. Automatically if the unemployment is decreased, the poverty diminishes.

Further, the govern also has to concentration the current problems that are hampering the nation such as eradication of malnutrition. Malnutrition has to be eradicated. Most of the people in some countries such as Africa are suffering from malnutrition. It may have such a gruesome effect such that it may reduce the population if the same state continues. Proper measures has to be taken for this hampering issue. The government has to make some public funds for sectors like education, unemployment and agriculture sectors.

Public funds should be encouraged in all the above mentioned sectors instead of funding on the sectors like scientific research that may create large scale unemployment in the future.Although is much stress is laid on the current issues, public funds with respect to the energy crisis like fuel, natural gas and others has to be made. In this case proper measures has to be taken so that there is no dearth in the future. Alternate measures like bio-gas production should be encouraged, so that some of the natural energy is preserved for the future generations.

Thus in total, the government has to concentrate more on the issues that are currently hampering the nation rather than anticipating on the future problems. Yes, I agree that the future problems also has to have some attention but more stress on the pragmatic solutions pertaining to the current issues should be stressed.