Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education plays a very vital role in each and every person's life. To be come a good citizen and an epitome of mankind education is paramount. This good education is made available to everyone through education institutions, and this education is measured through the academic performances. The issue claims that the competition to the higher grades limits the quality of learning at all levels of education is truly acceptable.

The education is measured using values and grades by the institutions. However, this will not determine the educational values of a person, after all the grades are only figures and there is still to achieve beyond these figures. Most of the education systems in this world follow the strict rules, such as imposing the teachers to teach in a way that will help the students to score good in exams and also on the students to score higher grades. This may impose psychological pressure in the student's mind to score good in their academics.

One example has to be pointed in this situation. Sir Thomas Alva Edison is a school drop out. Even then he achieved and become a hero is everyone's eyes by introducing "bulb" to the world. In Edison's case no higher grades mattered him. Similarly, the education systems which imposes pressure on students to secure higher grades is debatable. The students, just in order to secure good grades read from dawn to dusk, without having an insight or deep thinking of their subjects. This should not happen. Students have to read and understand the subjects with deep knowledge, so that in future they can give something to this world.

Although it is argued that the competition for the higher grades will curb the natural development of skill of a student, it can also be seen in this way. The competition to secure higher grades will motivate the students to learn the subjects assiduously and take up the examinations seriously, so that they can secure good grades in the exams. Perhaps, healthy competition with good knowledge on all the subjects would make the education of a person better.

Thus, in total, the competition is necessary to motivate oneself to secure good education. But the figures or the values that are given for these performances are not the true figures that will measure the student's skill sets accurately. The students who will strive to secure higher grades will ultimately hedge their development of skills and concentrate more on the values and numerical figures provided for their performances. Hence, it is agreeable that competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.