The following is from a recent email from the Diord Corp. Human Resources Manager: “Tobor Technologies

found that mental health problems and mental illness were responsible for about 15 percent of employee sick

days. Tobor amended its employee insurance plan so that workers receive the same coverage for mental illness

as they do for physical illness. In addition, the company hired an on-site psychologist and created a system

that allows workers to schedule confidential counseling appointments. After one year, the number of sick days

used by employees declined by 10 percent. Diord Corp. has had an increase in employee sick days over the

past two years, so we should introduce a similar insurance plan and counseling program. These measures will

surely reduce employee absenteeism and cause an increase in productivity.”

The author letter, about introducing the new policies in many aspects of the company's infrastructure, though looks proper and quietly concerned, it is lacking proper evidences to approve the modifications that are thought to be brought. Several assumptions are made and proper gist is not supplied to these assumptions, to agree upon. Hence, the claim made by the author is inherently flawed and requires more proofs to approve the conclusions stated.

Firstly, the author is claiming that Torbor technology found that mental illness is responsible for fifteen percent of the employees sick days and added that the company revised its medical insurance policy to cover the mental illness. Here, what sort of mental illness is not corroborated. Is it the mental illness like depression or is the work has made them mentally torpid which is making them to take a leave to have a break is not known. Since the type of mental illness is not stated, the conclusion of its revision of policy makes facile.

Secondly, the author is also stating that the company have hired a psychologist, to have confidential counseling to help them to mitigate the mental illness. With this claim, the author is stating that after one year, the number of sick days used by employees declined by ten percent. This conclusion is futile. The mental illness usually take very long time to heel. It may sometimes take many years. Hence, the statistics after one year may not be completely true. It may also be true that, some people left the company and the new joiners are not taking many leaves and so the number of employee's absent days are reduced to ten percent. Hence, with this assumption, the conclusion made is not acceptable.

Thirdly, by looking at the bird view results of the company's new policy, the author is stating that even David Corp also has to revise their policies so that it will help reduction in absenteeism of the employees. Here also, the author is not stating that what kind of illness the employees of David Corp are encumbered, the statistics of new joiners and old members of the corporation. Without this information, the conclusion stated to imbibe similar sort of policy is impotent.

Thus, in total, the author's concern all though to improve the productivity by adopting new policies seem amicable, due to missing assumptions and facts, the claim look futile. Still greater and deeper study has to be made to revise the company's policy and imbibe new rules to reduce the absenteeism.