"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author is making flawed assumptions and is jumping into the conclusions. Without corroborating the positions of statements made the conclusions are made which cannot be accepted.

To begin with, on the first statement, the author is stating that mopeds serve as the popular transport and immediately measures the population scale. Here which population scale is measured, is it the number of people who are using the mopeds or the number of mopeds, increased is not known. There is no relationship between the popularity and the scaling the population unless said which population is measured. The author may have to reconsider his statement with some bolstering points and then render the conclusion.

Secondly, it is stated that number of rentals has to be limited from 50 to 25. Although this seems to have a good intention, in the end the conclusion which is made seem to make the whole statement naugatory. No evidence is provided that the only during the summer season, the accidents are augmenting and hence there is a need to reduce only during summer season. whether the popularity of these mopeds increases season wise, that also is not known. Without knowing these facts, the statement that is made to reduce the number of rentals during summer season cannot be approbated.

Thirdly, the author is making the comparision with the neighboring island. The comparision is about the effect of reducing the number of rentals on mopeds. Proper proponents are not provided on how the comparision is made. It may be likely that the island Seaville is a smaller island and hence there came a need to reduce the rentals to mitigate the number of accidents caused due to the mopeds. Without considering these points, the conclusion cannot be drawn that the enforcement of smae sort of rule in Balmaer island would help in the reduction of the accidents caused by mopeds.

Thus in total, there are many loop holes that needs to be addressed. Without addressing the gaps, measuring the scale, comparisoions and other conclusions becomes senseless. Still deeper study has to be made and posited with bolstering points to strengthen the statement of assertion.