Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

A leader is a man who guides the people in the right direction. To build and develop a nation strongly, the role of a leader is necessary. To achieve this the leader should have a circumspect, mindful and good political acumen. The leader should be a political savvy and should follow the principles and rules to lead the nation to the success. Considering all the above facts, a political leader must be committed to the rules and objectives to guide the nation to reach goal.

There are many exemplar leaders which can be considered. Consider the example of the great leader of India, the Gandhi. Gandhi is a powerful political leader.He united India, with harmony, and brought freedom to the country from the British hegemony. He followed his principles, abided his rules and commitment to help nation to unencumbered.With his good conviction, which based his political principles and objectives the success attained fruition.

Although the main stress should be laid on the principles and objectives, listening to the public words is also one of the quality of a leader.True leader should be one among the team.Leader although is well equipped with the principled thoughts, should sometimes listen to the ideas of the public opinion, scrutinize them and then inculcate them in the execution of a gambit.But at the same time, he should prescient in incorporating the opinions of the public. The public may not be a well informed in politics, and hence there may be likely that sometimes their opinion will lack the big picture.

Thus, in a nutshell, a political leader should be committed to the objectives and principles. More stress must be laid on the discrete intuitions. Then only the success can be achieved.