Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

Dream is an illusion. People dream everyday whether they are sleeping or they are awake. No doubt a person should have a dream, but as per the author's statement, most people will inherently have selfish dreams. They are driven by cynicism. Dreaming is human tendency. But one should have dream such that it should not have any bad effect on anyone. It should be for the development of the oneself, nation and ultimately the world. Hence I totally agree with the authors claim that even though the young people are said to dream, picking the right direction to achieve a dream should be emphasized, which is making them to choose bad way instead.

As said in the first paragraph, a young mind should have many dream. Dream should be as such that develops oneself and in turn the world. Young people are always open to all sorts of suggestions. Hence their minds are always malleable. With such a plastic nature of thinking, it is easy to make a child an epitome of achiever of follower of his dream or a felonious person. Young people in schools and colleges dream. It is also the responsibility of parents and teachers to make the kids to dream in a way which does not hamper anyone while achieving them. If a kid starts to dream about something, the same way of dreaming it tries to implement in all thoughts. Hence it is also a responsibility of elders to make them dream in proper way, by nurturing and rearing them in congenial and suitable environments.

Many people to achieve their dream, do bad things. For example in some hospitals, in order to achieve a goal, such as making a margin money per day, they charge surplus amount on patients. This is a selfish activity. A hospital's duty is to take a good care of the patients, instead many hospitals are only to make money and reach the expected revenue per day. This is a selfish and fraudulent activity. This may load the patients who are financially back. Not only in medical in many other fields this happens. Even in the field of education, politics, transportation and so on. Even though it look semblance, the hidden selfishness is not known.

Thus, in total, as author's claim that more stress should be laid on good dreams which helps to uplift a person and make him a good citizen in future because, unknowingly a person may inherit the felonious way of dreaming which may cause people suffer around him.