Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument about the Nature's way is expanding its franchise and also states the points that will lead to its successful business. Though the argument on the first look seem to be acceptable, there are many conspicuous assumptions, which has to be addressed to completely agree with the author's claims.

Firstly, the author is claiming that Nature's Way will make profit, if it opens in the place where residents lead healthy life. But apparently no proper proof is provided to substantiate this claim. No statistics has been provided to state that what is the population of the Plainsville, and their health status. Without this information, it is difficult to say which areas are filled with residents who are leading healthy life. Further, author is also claiming that the running shoes and exercise clothing are at full-time highs. This may be likely because the merchants are having good business and marketing acumen and hence making more profit.

Secondly, the author is claiming that the local club has more members. Here also without knowing the population statistics, the conclusion made cannot be accepted. It may be likely that there are very few exercise training centers in the town which is making more people to flood in or it may even be likely that the training rooms are small and hence even with small number of people it looks full filled. The conclusion drawn using this as a claim seems futile.

Thirdly, the author is stating that the present generation are the potential customers, and so they have to participate in fitness programs. Here also the population statistics matters. Without knowing the number of people of the new generation, it is difficult to say that they are the potential customers. It may be likely that there is a less scale for the number of new generation, at that time apparently they do not become potential customers. Above all, the fitness potential customers count not only the new generation, but also all age type people.

Thus, in total, the assumptions made by the author and the missing points in the argument makes the argument facile. Still potential proofs had to be submitted to make the argument more strong and genial.