The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The letter although is having a good intention of training the professors, more claims are not provided for the conclusion drawn. No relation could be drawn between the statements made. A different college training programs is highlighted. But no proper relation is drawn of evidence is given for the conclusion of request by the faculty member to the University president.

On the first hand, it is said that the professors are those who teach the students. But the author is claiming that the professors are sitting with their college-aged students, to learn the things. This seems to have a loop hole. The author's is not mentioning that why the professors are offered the free tuition with their students and on what all subjects. This engenders that there are no good professors in that college, who can teach better to the students. It is also not stated that what kind of professors are made to take up the tuition. Are they new professors, or yet to take up the professor role and so on. Without these information, the author is stating that the faculty retention is more if the professors take up the tuition with their college-aged students.

The author is stating that since the Oceania university is offering the high retention for the professors to those who take up the free tuition with their college-aged students, and hence suggesting the Seatown University to accommodate such a program. This has no relationship. The faculty is stating that the program should be conducting to enhance morale among all the professors and luring new professors. There is no statement the author is making that the Oceanic University is giving free tuition to enhance morale to their professors. On the other hand, no statement is made that why tuition on morality to the faculty has to be made.

Further, the author states that purpose that Oceanic University is offering the free tuition to the professors. The author also states that purpose that the Seatown University should also conduct such programs. But the purposes of both the Universities do not match. No proper background id mentioned that why for such purpose the tuition are made avail to the professors. Without knowing this the conclusion cannot be accepted.

Thus, in total, the authors positions of statements seem unjust and hence the conclusion cannot be accepted. Still many potential and strong evidences and corroborations has to be given to finally conclude of offering the tuitions to the professors.