The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement

The study of history has enabled mankind to elucidate the advent of technological advancements, the evolution of "Homo Neanderthalis" to the "Homo Sapiens" of today, and also account for several behavioral aspects of social importance. The prompt argues that the benefit of such a study is to assert, without any doubt, that people today are no different from their counterparts of earlier times. Indisputably, certain traits of human nature have stood the test of time, but being an evolutionary species, mankind is ever changing in its cognitive and visceral behaviors. In my opinion, history as a study serves not only important to characterise such evolutionary traits but also highlights the differences between us and our ancestors.

With the advent of Darwin's "Theory of Evolution" where he posits that survival, as a basic need, solely determines whether a certain species become extincts or withstands the tribulations of time, people have grown more accustomed with the idea that key differences between us and those who lived in earlier times have led to survival and evolution of our species. For example, technological advancements of irrigation systems have led civilizations to flourish in the Indus Valley. Also, the ability to locomote using only a couple of our limbs, contrary to our predecessors, apes, who used all of their four limbs, have had significant changes in speed and efficiency.

Similar key changes in behavioral aspects of mankind such as shifting food habits are also key to establishing perceptions how history corrobates the idea that Darwin once put forth. Our ancestors of pre-historic times resorted mostly to hunting food whereas we as a society have developed agricultural sources as the most important factor catering to our diets. Whilst hunting, many were faced with perilous situations and led to significant loss of lives, whereas moving to more domesticated ideas such as dairy farming, poultry or reaping crop harvests mitigated the adverse effects of having wild animals as the primary source of food.

Indisputably, certain human traits are prevalent even today, which are quite similar to what our ancestors did. Such traits do not necessarily prove that our ancestors were no different from us. On the contrary, these traits enlighten us on how on certain paradigms, our behaviours are quite similar to those of earlier times. For example, the existence of social groups were present even during pre-historic times. People have been living in such groups since times immemorial. However, a more meticulous study of such social or racial groups entails the differences between their beliefs and ours. For example, tribes were usually xenophobic in earlier times and were hostile towards any non-native individual. On the contrary, we as a society, encourage diverse groups and new minded people as its benefits far outweigh the detrimental effects.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the statement that the main benefit of studying and sharing historical knowledge is to assert that we as a society are no different from our ancestors. History serves to show that even though, certain behavioral traits have stood the test of time, the moral beliefs and societal trends have changed over the years. In fact, the ever changing nature of societal beliefs is what defines mankind as a social and progressive being. A careful study reveals further insight how evolutionary changes, technological advancements, and behavioral changes over time has led to the established society that we are so connected to today.