The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living

now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true

and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Whether the main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times could be weighed in many aspects. However, the argument is flawed because it relies on various dubious assumptions.

Admittedly, the argument appears to have considerable merit. Studying history does provide us details about the past, and many of the similarities between ancient and current human society’s characteristics can be found in those documents. For example, not different from the past, people still use vessels to trade between continents and still cultivate lands nowadays.

However, the author fails to take the influence brought by technologies into account. Modern technologies may change or have already affected people’s life and mind. In ancient times, when people wanted to communicate with others who lived far away from them, they wrote letters. When they were writing letters, they usually needed to provide enormous details because the receiver could not respond to them immediately, but for people in modern society, they use e-mail or phones, which allow them to get a direct response immediately so they do not need to spend extraneous time to think of the context in their messages. In this case, we can not assure that the people living now are similar to those who lived in earlier times.

Moreover, the author falsely assumes that the history is impeccable. Yet history is written by winners, the authority prevails at the time mostly doesn’t allow to know it’s faults. Also, some parts of history might be missed due to its lack of usage of texts. Despite all of the records show that ancient life and behavior are similar to the people nowadays, there still should be some disparities hidden below the surface.

While on the surface the author’s claim appears to have some logical sense, it lacks information that is integral to identifying the statement is immaculate. If the author can ensure the correctness of the history, or that despite using different ways to communicate, what actually occurs in their mind are still tantamount to those in ancient times, the argument can be strengthened. Therefore, I fundamentally disagree with the conclusion the statement provides.