The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author claims that Super Screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. The general reason to support this claim is that despite the percentage of positive views increased, the attendance to the movies produced by Super Screen went down last year. However, the argument is flawed because it fails to provide more details to make itself reasonable.

First of all, as mentioned in the argument, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. However, this evidence is insufficient to establish the claim in question The author does not provide further details of this phenomenon. There may be some serious events that cause the problem other than the lack of awareness from the public. Consider there was a fatal virus during last year, the government prohibited their residents to go to public places such as theaters or ballparks. In this case, lack of awareness from the public is not responsible for the decline of attendance, and therefore increase the advertising budget won't guarantee the raise of attendance.

Secondly, the argument only informed us that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers increased during the past year. However, the positive or negative reviews do not always relate directly to attendance. Consider the all the movies they produced last year are didactic and have positive influence on people's morals and ethics, of course, it would drag positive reviews from reviews because they met the society's standards. However, local residents may prefer some fantastic Sci-Fi types of movies such as Transformers, and thus in this case advertisement may only offer a little help.

Last but not least, we also do not know what other companies produced last year. Consider a case that another movie producer publishes a movie from a very famous series such as Spider-man or Superman. Due to the renowned success of their predecessors in the series, it wouldn't be surprised that these two movies caught most of the fans' eyes. Despite the movie produced by the super screen was awesome and reviews showed positively, people may choose to go to those classics since those are the topic they are familiar with. In this case, the advertisement also could not help much.

On the surface the authors claim may appear to have some logical sense, but it lacks a great deal of information that is integral to identifying if this is a valid decision. To strengthen it the author might provide clear details to ensure that no other event that can hinder people to attend theaters or that the reviews have direct relations within the area and preclude the condition whether there was any classic being published last year.