Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Whether learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline and students cannot be motivated by school or college alone can be weighed in many aspects. However, the statement is flawed because it excludes several important factors.

Admittedly, the speaker’s claim might appear to have some considerable merit. After all, personal discipline does play a core role of learning. In ancient times, when there was neither school nor college, people still pursued knowledge and improved themselves. Since at the time schools did not exist, in general cases, learning was powered by people’s own discipline or eagerness. However, in the argument, the author fails to take eagerness into account.

It is thus justifiable to take eagerness or even interest into account, and we will find the statement problematic. Consider some cases in which students pursue knowledge are solely based on their own eagerness or interest to the topic or subject, no doubt that they will be willing to spend extra time studying or penetrating these subjects. In contrast, when these students are studying those they are not interested in, it is possible that these seemingly “self-discipline” will dissipate. Thus, the benefit brought by eagerness and interest shouldn’t be ruled out.

Moreover, the speaker underestimates the school’s influence on learning. Under some circumstances in which students lack interest in the subjects or topics they participate in, school’s regulations such as exams could help maintain one’s personal discipline. Since records on campus might influence further advance in the academy such as enrollment of top universities or the salary of their first occupation, students may be willing to endure the subjects they dislike.

In summary, this claim is not as persuasive as it stands. Although personal discipline is an important factor in learning, we still cannot take it as the primary matter of it. Without motivation or eagerness, not every student is willing to maintain such discipline, and under those circumstances school’s regulations such as exams become another key factory to maintain one’s personal learning discipline. Therefore, since personal discipline may be the consequential product of other factors, it is not apropos to detach these factors from motivating one’s learning.