Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Whether the movies and television have more negative effects than positive on the way young people behave can be weighed in many aspects. However, the statement is flawed because it relies on various assumptions.

Admittedly, the speaker's claim appears to have considerable merit. Movies and television do have some negative effects on the way young people behave. Some dramas on screen include fighting plot and violence scene many mislead young people to some improper behaviors. However, the statement fails to provide a precise litmus test measuring "movies and television". When we speak of "movies" or "television", the following can be put forth: violent types, didactic types, and some amusing types. Obviously, the latter two provide more positive effects than negative effects on young people.

It is thus justifiable to take all kinds of movies and television series into account, and we will find the statement problematic. Amusing movies bring people happiness with some jokes, hardly can it distort young people's mind. Didactic movies teach young people what is the right thing to do, it can also be rare to affect kids in negative ways. Although violent movies may misguide youths to the wrong path, given the various types of movies, it could only act as a drop in a bucket compared to the rest of the movie industry.

Moreover, the speaker falsely assumes that young people can easily access violent movies or series without any restriction. Many countries set policies or laws to forbid people below a certain age to get into the cinema for some types of movies. Under such policies, the chance of young people get in touch with violent movies is confined, let alone the possibility they get affected by them. Since the access to movies with more negative effects is prohibited, the remains they face are those movies with more positive influences.

In summary, the claim is not as persuasive as it stands. Although some types of movies do bring more negative effects than positive effects, the speaker fails to specify which type of movie is being discussed here and falsely presumes that youths can easily get access to improper types of movies. Thus, according to my exposition, I fundamentally disagree with the statement.