Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the

student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling

reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Whether the universities should required every students to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study could be further dwelt on. However, there is no guarantee that every student will benefit from it.

Admittedly, the speaker’s claim might appear to have considerable merit. After all, studying courses outside of the student’s field could boost one’s knowledge. Yet the speaker fails to provide a precise litmus test for measuring “which kind of students should take courses outside of the student’s field”. When we speak of “students”, the following come to mind: students with relative easy majors, students

with burdensome majors, student with ingenious talent, and students who struggle against academy institution. Obviously, students who have relatively burdenless majors or those who are overwhelmingly clever can handle or even enjoy the courses outside of their fields, while others may not.

It is thus justifiable to take both clever and mediocre students in account, and we will find the statement problematic. Consider those who have struggled a lot just to make their own way to catch up the academy progress with in their own field. If they are required to take courses outside of their majors, we can already anticipate that those students might have a high chance to encounter extraneous failures which they are not supposed to deal with if they don’t take these courses. As the result, the failure and the consequential influence such as depression is likely to outweigh the benefits of those courses outside of their field.

Moreover, the speaker unfairly assumes that by studying the courses outside of their field, students will benefit. However, their learning always depends primarily on their motivation and self-discipline. Even clever students who are able to learn things rapidly might fail to absorb the information they dislike by simply being inattentive to the subject. Therefore, studying subjects outside of one’s major cannot guarantee an ideal result, which may require additional regulations or encouragements to make the desirable outcome payoff.

In summary, this claim is not as persuasive as it stands. Although studying courses outside the student’s field of study could indeed benefit students, not all students are the same. If they are not driven or lack of interest in the subjects they participate in, or that they do not have time for extra tasks, the result will backfire no matter how great the intention and ambition of this claim is.