ormal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Whether formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free can be weighed in many aspects. However, the statement is flawed because it does not take some cases into consideration.

Admittedly, the author's claim appears to have considerable merit. In some fields of studies, formal education does tend to retrain our minds and spirits. In ancient China, when people wanted to work for the government and got the desired paid, they needed to take a national-wide examination. In such a test, people were required to compose articles or poems that only allowed to be written in specific formal. Every person who wished to surmount the exam should study the fixed type of literature, and thus the context and their thoughts were circumscribed by the formal.

However, the author fails to take some of the modern sciences and studies into account. Many fields of the study offered by the academy system nowadays only teach people tools, the fundamental knowledge and how those techniques or skills can be applied to real-life issues, instead of restricting people's minds in certain shapes. Data Science, for example, is one of the inspiring studies nowadays. People only use the modeling methods as tools, but how to apply it depends on the situation which required the users' meditation and acumen. In this case, formal education offers a floor rather than a ceiling.

Moreover, as new technologies being invented, their details will also be added to textbooks. These details involve not only the pros but also cons and thus invent further issues. To avoid the issue brought by the new technologies and knowledge, people need to search for deliverance whether to solve them or circumvent them. Therefore, in this case, formal education imparts us the information on new technologies, and the further gives us another platform to utilize our minds and thoughts.

On the surface, the author's claim may seem to have some logical sense, but it falsely precludes some particular cases. Formal education is now further developed with the emergence of new technologies, and therefore not only does not restrict our minds and spirits but also lends credence to them.