GRE ISSUE A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for th

While a single national curriculum serves to ensure that students are at least familiar with the basics of all subjects, it also prevents them from furthering their knowledge into specific fields of interest. The prompt questions whether it is beneficial for all students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. In my opinion, I mostly disagree that a singular national curriculum is required due to reasons such as diversity amidst people owing to regional, social and economic differences.

A nation's decision to develop a single national curriculum which serves best in the interest of the people should take into account the diversity present in its citizens. For example, in considering a single curriculum for History in India, in matters such as its struggle for independence, the curriculum must include freedom fighters from all across the country, thereby portraying the cooperation amidst them in reaching such a cherished accomplishment.

However, such an approach is not feasible for all subjects given the diversity of linguistics present in a country like India. For example, the people living in Bengal region of the country are more inclined towards studying Bengali literary works while a resident of Rajasthan would like to read more on Rajasthani poetry and prose. Hence, a single national curriculum in such subjects would prevent people from reading such regional languages and supplant them with a single national language and its literary works. This would inevitably be detrimental since it would serve to eradicate the proliferation of diverse regional languages and traditions that define the nation.

Indisputably, a single national curriculum would bring parity in the knowledge that its students have, but such parity might not lead to substantial improvement in the overall literacy of the people. In defining a sinle national curriculum, a country also needs to keep in mind the weakest sections of its population, people who have not been exposed to the education earlier due to economic or social conditions. While a strict educational curriculum will serve to benefit the more learned society, it would inevitably discourage the weaker sections to give up education at an early age. On the contrary, a single curriculum dedicated towards the weaker sections would not help advance knowledge of the more educated section of the people.

In conclusion, based on the above scenarios, a single national curriculum for all students will not serve to be in the best interests of the people. The inherent diversity in a country due to social, regional and economic differences often needs to be considered when such proposals of a singular unified approach is presented. These differences necessitate an approach which caters to individual needs while also making significant efforts towards upliftment of the society as a whole.