Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain y

With the development of society, some people argue that governments should pay more attention to immediate problems such as poverty and safety instead of focusing on anticipated issues of the future. While it may seems reasonable for governments to regard immediate problems as important, I believe that political leaders should also be careful and try to solve problems that may appeared in the future for a few reasons.

On the one hand, it is obviously significant to try to solve problems on the horizon. Because if these problems are not solved, the society would be more unstable and face more problems rose from the original ones. For example, in many developing countries, there are a large number of people unable to feed themselves and earn enough money to pay for housing, food and clothes. If the poverty problem remain unsolved, there would be an increase in crime and lack of work force in the job market which may make the economy worse. As a result, governments must pay more attention to these immediate problems of today and invest funding in addressing these problems.

On the other hand, there are also some implicit problems and dangers in the society that may deteriorate the livelihood of residents in the future. Take the global warming as an example. If the industries keep using coal and other resources to gain energy, the earth would be warmer in the future. Changing the resources used might not be an immediate issue because the costs spent to buy this kind of resource is still cheap and the trend of global warming may seem moderate. But if governments don’t use policies to bound the using of coal and ignore the anticipated problem, people would face more significant problems in the future, such as extreme weather, food insufficiency and so on. In that case, governments ought to try to solve problems that may appear in the future to avoid other social problems.

In addition, in areas like technology and science, maybe some people regard these problems as long-term and believe that government should pay more money to build other infrastructure such as hospitals. But in fact, the development of the human and society can’t continue without technology progress. If the government ignore developing technology, the country may lose the chance to attract more talented workers, lose in the competition between nations and even lose in a war in the future. The outcome may lead to the loss of the country’s good reputation and political power in the future. Thus, governments should still pay attention to these significant areas.

In conclusion, while it is true that some essential and immediate problems need to be solved and given enough funding, I argue that government should still pay attention to implicit problems that may rise more related problems in the future.