Some people believe that in order to be effective political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently

Nowadays, people pay more attention to the politics because the world has become much more complex since the 21st century. As for effective political leaders, some people believe that the most important characteristic is to keep committed to principles while others argue that they should give up their principles to get the support from people. In my opinion, I believe that leaders must consider people’s suggestions carefully without changing their goals and principles easily for three reasons.

It is not wise to yield to the public and give up principles easily. Maybe it seems reasonable to take the support from public as the most important issue, because political leaders usually need it to keep in their position. However, in this term, policies may change extremely soon which may deteriorate the livelihood of residents and the credibility of governments. There is a likelihood that many ordinary people may lack the merits needed to do serious political decisions. If it is that case, following public opinion without political leaders’ own opinions would harm the whole country in the long term. And there is also a possibility that compromising may lead to losing the support from people as well as having bad outcome. Thus, leaders shouldn’t abandon all the principles.

As for keeping committed to principles, it would be quite necessary to consider whether the principles and ideas kept by the leaders are correct. Some people simply believe that keeping principles must be an important merit. Take Hitler as an example. He is a quite famous leader with bad reputation. During the 1940s, he has believed that it was critical to kill other people and in order to make profit for his nation. Hitler was committed to his principle and never changed his action. But it was extremely a disaster! Let’s think about Stalin as well. He believed that ordinary people must commit to the nation and do their best to support the development of industry, but it turned out to be a mistake to follow his autocratic government. If the leaders are committed to wrong principles, the situation would be worse.

Even they are committed to wise principles, they still need to consider public opinion. Because the world is becoming more and more complex, and the political situation is always changing. Maybe the principles were true now, but they may not in the future. Also, leaders sometimes ignore the livelihood of ordinary people as well. In essential areas like food supply and education, public suggestions and opinions often play an important role in reflecting the country’s development.

In conclusion, we need to combine these two opinions and find the best solution to possible problems mentioned above. In other words, governments should take public opinion into consideration, but they should not simply follow these suggestions without critical thinking.