The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of
developers in the city of Monroe.
"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the
nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note,
would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over
100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; seve ral well-known
jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz
Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the
typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."
Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the
argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.
The author of the argument concludes that a jazz music
club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable
enterprise. However, that conclusion is based on a
number of inadequately supported assumptions. Without
further information about this jazz club being the only one
in the area and jazz music being popular, we do not have
sufficient evidence to determine whether the author’s
conclusion is valid.
To begin the argument, the small business that is applying
for a loan, claims that a new jazz club would have the local
market all to itself because the nearest club is 60 miles
from there. In other words, they think chances to get the
customers are considerably big. It is possible that other
powerful investors may build or open another jazz club not
far from there-perhaps earlier than that. Further, there is a
possibility that the club in distance is in its best time and
might not lose any audience. If either of these scenarios
are worth then the conclusion of profit in the main
argument is weakened.
Secondly, the author claims that jazz is extremely popular
in Monroe. The opponents in this argument assume that
over 100,000 people that attended Monroe's annual jazz
festival last summer are a good reason for success.
However, this might not be the case. Perhaps these
people came for the festival from many distant cities and
that’s why they might not be a potent indicator that jazz in
Monroe is popular. In an ideal world, many people may
love jazz, but the reality is such that they cannot do so due
to other preferences or distances, then is no garanty jazz
is loved by Monroe people. If the above is true, the
argument is not valid.
In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is
considerably flawed because is relying on several
unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to
argument the two claims above and offer more evidence
then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viability of
the recommendation of opening a jazz club in Monroe.