Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While the speaker claim may seem true, his claims rests on a number of unjustified assumptions, poor quantification and numerous logical flaws which make it impossible to validate his conclusion.

The speaker assumed that since the woven basket was discovered by the archaeologists in Lithos, that once known Palean basket is not truly Palean's but Litho's. The speaker failed to present an irrefutable evidence that will support his claim. Just because the woven basket was discovered at Lithos doesn't mean it is theirs. What if the woven basket discovered in Lithos was owned by a Palean or a person from another village which the speaker didn't mention of? The conclusion made by the speaker is too porous to be considered plausible. However, in other to improve this argument the speaker should provide a lucid evidence showing that this basket is of Lithos origin.

Also, the speaker flawed argument was exacerbated when he failed to provide quantification for various properties such as the depth and the breadth of the river between the Palean and Lithos villages. Stating that the river is very deep and broad and therefore, precludes the possibility of Palean crossing over. Who measured the depth and the breadth of the river? The part of the river near the Palean may not be too deep or far to enable the Palean villagers to pass or swim through. There is no clear evidence to back this claim . The argument could be improved by quantifying the depth and breadth of the river.

Finally, the speaker made a dubious claim that "no Palean boats have been found". Who reported this ? Who was responsible for checking if Palean boats have entered Lithos? This claim is too light to be true. In order to validate this claim the speaker need to provide more evidence that will substantiate his claim.

The argument was based on questionable assumptions, lack of quantification and contain numerous logical errors that make it impossible incontrovertible. To make his claim unequivocal, the speaker would need to quantify his claim and provide more evidence that will enable his claim to be plausible and indisputable.