The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While the plan of the food distribution president seemed auspicious, the argument presented does not actually prove the case. The argument suffers from poor logical statements, lack of quantification, use of extreme word and rest on unfounded assumption which tends to compromise it's conclusion.

The author assumed that the Fly-away pest company started work immediately after signing the contract. This assumption is not pertinent because there is no evidence that showed immediate resumption by Fly-away company. is there any proof that shoes that the Fly-away pest control company work in the palm city warehouse? However, there is no evidence to support it. A contract can be signed to begin in 6 months or a year time, it is not necessary that it will have immediate effect. In order make this argument plausible, the author needs to provide evidence that showed that the Fly-away pest control company really did work in the warehouse.

Also, the author claimed that last month food worth over $20,000 were destroyed by pest after the Fly-away pest control company must have worked in the warehouse. Just because foods were destroyed during the time a contract was given to fly-away company doesn't mean that their pest control skills is not effective or that they are responsible for the damage made. Furthermore, there is no evidence that truly show that the stored food was destroyed by the pest. It could be falsely reported to the vice president to be damaged by pest. The damage could be as a result of other factors such as , poor storage temperature, poor maintenance or ventilation of the warehouse that destroyed the stored food. It could also be as a result of environmental factors, like in a rainy areas , it rained and much water or flood entered the warehouse and wasted the food. The author needs to investigate other factors that might have lead to the destruction of the stored food to make the argument sound.

The argument was further worsened when the author claimed that Buzzoff Pest control company is the best means of the food distribution company to save money. Best in the whole country? The vice president just compared two company and concluded that one is the best. In addition to this, losing $10,000 worth of food in a month contradicts the author claim that Buzzoff Pest control company is actually the best.

Finally, this argument lack quantification. The author claimed that , though the price of service charged by the Buzzoff Pest control company is higher than the service price of fly-away pest control company, that the best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff services. What is the service charge of the Buzzoff Pest control company and fly-away pest control company? The service price of Fly-away company might be higher than Buzzoff company service price by a cent or a dollar. There is no much difference here. Furthermore, if the total worth of goods in the warehouse is $30,000 , and the service charge of Buzzoff company is $25,000 and plus the $10,000 worth of food lost totaling $35,000. It can be seen that the food distribution company is experiencing losses and not profit. Therefore, to validate this claim the author needs to quantify the service charges of both Buzzoff and Fly-away pest control company.

Though the conclusion reached by the vice president of the food control company seemed favourable, however the argument was flawed because the author failed to consider other factors that could have destroyed the stored food. Also, the argument made use of extreme word, illogical statements, lack quantification and was based on unjustified assumption which serve to jeopardize the conclusion. Therefore, in order to make this argument hard, the author needs to investigate various factors that might have destroyed the stored food, provide evidence that Fly-away pest control company started work immediately after signing the contract and also provide evidence that showed that Buzzoff is actually the best option for the food distribution company by quantifying the service charge of both Fly-away and Buzzoff pest control company.