The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While the solution of the rush-hour traffic suggested by the author seems plausible and promising, however, his plan rest on a number of unjustified assumption and also failure to take into account other factors that can jeopardize his plan. Also, the arthur tends to predict the future and mentioned vagued words which faulted his claim and compromise his conclusion.

The arthur assumed that because the proposal to solve the rush-hour traffic problem by widening the road lane didn't work in green highway that it is not going to work in blue highway. However, just because the plan didn't work in green highway does not mean it won't work in blue highway. Is there any evidence that show the plan to widen the car lane won't work in blue highway? The arthur never explained why the scheme won't work in the blue highway. Therefore, the arthur failed to establish enough similarity between the blue highway and the green highway.

In addition to this, because the target to ebb road traffic was not successful in the previous year at a particular place does not mean it is still the same, a lot of changes might have have done to enable it to work. The situation might have been resolved. Furthermore, the argument was further flawed when the arthur tried to predict the future, that his plan will encourage commuters to use the bicycle lane will curtail the road traffic. However, what is good on a short run might not be good on the long run.

Finally, the arthur assumed that commuters will happily welcome the new proposal and will be encouraged to use bicycle to commute. Is there any proof that this latest plan is going to encourage the commuters to use bicycle as a means of transportation? However, maybe a large population of the commuters will still insist on using car transport because of one reason or the other. Maybe because it gives them high comfort that bicycle transport can't boast of or they don't have money to purchase bicycle.

Therefore in order to validate this claim, the arthur needs to provide evidence that the new scheme the commuters into using bicycle for transportation.

The new proposal to diminish road traffic by adding bicycle lane in the blue highway is optimistic and cannot be gainsay. However, the arthur failed to take into account some certain factors that can make his plan ineffective, also , he provided no evidence that show that the proposal by motorist lobby that didn't work in green highway is not going to work in blue highway. Therefore, in order to make his claim incontrovertible, the arthur needs to investigate those factors that are likely to make his plan not to work, provide good analogy between the blue highway and the green highway and also provide evidence that proposal of the motorist lobby won't work in blue highway.