The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievement of its rulers, artists , or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position you should consider ways in which the statement might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

An indicator is any group of statistical values that taken together give an indication of the health of the economy. Some would argue that the surest indicator of a great nation is shown by the general welfare of its people, but others would state that the indicator to a great nation is demonstrated by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists. In my view, I believe the general health of a country is highly dependent on its ruler, because the decision and achievements of its leaders determine how sound the economy will be.

America is a great nation today because of the kind of leaders they have. Looking back from 1775 the year they got their independence from Britain with George Washington as the first president till the present date. They were opportune to be lead by charismatic leaders who have the interest of the people at heart. With the best managers and administrators, the economy of America has grown to be one of the best in the world. The same thing cannot be said of Libya today. When Gaddafi was the president of Libya, their economy was flourishing, every citizen of Libya was being taken care of, both employed and the unemployed, the old and the young. Every child was given free education from birth, good power supply and best of the amenities was enjoyed by its citizen. Because of his achievement in the country, the economy of Libya was sound and one of the best in Africa. Since the death of Gaddafi the economy of Libya has gone into ruination, different crisis here and there. Civil war, and crime is now commonplace in Libya.

Furthermore, the world leading countries like China, Russia, Japan, United States, these are highly industrialized and technological countries. They have good, scientists, good technologists and engineers which help to drive the country. China as a country today is almost independent of the world, almost everything in the world is produced in China, they have food, they produce cars, planes, phones etc. They are even the first country to develop the famous 5G network. These are things that control the world and obviously one of those things that make a nation great.

Clearly, the influence of a ruler, and scientist in a country cannot be neglected for the welfare of the people and of the country as a whole. When a nation have good leaders things tend to go well, where as countries that lack good leaders are always in recession. Therefore, the success of a nation is dependent on the achievement of its rulers.