The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on

all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the memorandum from the business manager of a television station, to avoid losing more revenues due to advertising, the compamy should restore the time back to local news. To prove his point, the maager said that the local businesses that where advertising with them withdraw their contracts. The argument lies on series of assumptions that are unpersuasive and illogical. This would be proved in the following essay:

First, the manager states that since the company has increase the time devoted to national news and to compromise this this new time they have reduce the time provided to weather and local news, they are receiving a number of complains. The manager has used the word 'most' which is very vague and it can be interpretated as any number which depends on the reader. For some it could mean 1-2 complains while for others it might mean 10-11 complains. Unless, the manager provides a specific number of people who has complained it would be difficult to assume that a lot of people are complaining.

Secondly, the manager has states that the local businesses has canceled their advertising contracts with them. There are many reasons for a cancelation like, the cost to advertise has gone up, other television station are providing same or better benefits to businesses at a much lower cost, or the businesses might have been closed down. While showing national news, there is a change that a national wide company advertise with the station and this would earn the company much higher money compare to money they earn from advertisement by local businesses. So, the manager should check all these facts before coming to any kind of conclusion.

Thirdly, the manager says that the majority of the complains are about the station's coverage of weather and local news. It might happen that due to cost cutting followed by the company, they have dismiss many repoters. The new lower number of reporters are unable to cover the entire field and this is causing the problem. It could also happen that due to less covergae the TRP of the televsion station has gone down and because of this the local businesses are cancelling their contracts. So, even if the company restore the time to weather and local news it would not do any good as the television station would not be able to cover the field and the complains would continue.

In conclusion, the manager should consider all these facts are carefully analyse it. The manager should also do a proper cost analysis as reverting to previous program would increase the cost. Manager should conduct a survey by which the company would come to know how many people are intrested in watching the local news over national news3. If the number is small then there is no need to make any changes to the current situation.