Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

149. In any field - business, politics, education, government - those in power should be required to step down after five years.

In recent years, there has been continuous discussions on the appropriate duration that people can stay in power. Some people demand that those in power should be compulsorily asked to step down after five years, in whatever realm. While others support longer periods of power, or even unlimited period as long as being suitable for high positions. This essay is going to argue that, in most circumstances, such relinquishment after five years should not be forced, because staying in power for longer periods contributes to gaining experience and building personal credibility, which are crucial elements to success in most spheres.

Admittedly, advocates of the above-mentioned policy might have concerns about the flexibility of a field if a certain person were allowed to be left in power for a long time. In such scenarios, the leader, inevitably, would pass and veto policies according to personal tastes, because individual bias is ubiquitous. This is generally considered as harmful for the development of an industry, no matter politics, education, or business, since a single perspective is unlikely to be applicable for all the potential intractable difficulties. On the other hand, if the higher positions were changing every five year, for instance, various leaders would probably capable of dealing with capricious situations the industry is facing. Therefore, with this respect, the policy seems plausible to ask for a compulsory relinquishment per half decade.

Nevertheless, it remains undeniable that longer periods of being exposure to power helps to gain experiences Therefore, in areas which attach great importance to experience, coercing rapidly changing of leading positions would unarguably hinder the prosperity of the realm. The most apparent example in this case is the education sector, longer periods of exposure to students and parents would build up people’s knowledge of the most efficient approaches to communicate with students, the most frequently made mistakes, and the most appropriate teachers for each subject. All those precious knowledge are products of time, and therefore the rapid change of education leaders will only act as obstructions to the efficiency of education. Hence, the implementation of the policy should, at least in certain experience-intensive fields, be dismissed.

Moreover, another privilege of consistently staying in power is the construction of personal credibility. Taking the business industry as an example, clients choose a certain company not only because of the products they provide, but also due to their trust to that company. While, the person in power is often considered as the symbol of a company’s credibility. Therefore, changing a new leader would imply that the company has to build its credibility again from the beginning, which is an extremely wasteful way of using resources. Thus, in areas where credibility is put as the rudimentary consideration, frequent changing of people in power seems would put more cons than its pros.

To summarise, this essay has argued that the policy of requiring the step down of people in power every five years should be vetoed, at least in certain fields. Because although such policies would bring more flexibility of the field, it seriously sacrifices gaining experience and building up credibility. Further studies could be conducted on the identification of sectors suitable for rapid relinquishment. In that way, this policy could stimulate the development in those areas.