The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum, the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants agues that to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and increase profitability, the company should extend some cost-saving changes to its other chain of restaurants in the southeast and northeast section of its customer base. In arriving at this conclusion, the manager bolsters the argument with 1. 2 percent of customers in the southwestern United States have complained indicating a very low number. 2. Customers do not complain when they are given margarine instead of butter. 3. Either customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or the use “butter” more generically to indicate butter or margarine. At the surface, this argument seems cogent but a deeper dive reveals that the assumptions are unwarranted and the argument as it stands is quite unpersuasive.

First, the manager has committed an error in providing an unrepresentative statistical data. 2 percent of a particular customer base segment does not represent a sufficient sample size making the assumption unwarranted. Even if we assume that this sample size is sufficient, the mere fact that just 2 percent have complained does not equate that the reminder 98 percent are happy about the change. Some customers may not have complained just to avoid drawing unnecessary attention to themselves but would have such conversations with their friends, relatives, or colleagues during casual discussions which may not be good for the business. To bolster this statistical data, there should be a survey to evaluate the level of satisfaction amongst customers which will ascertain the accurate percentage of those that are happy with such change. Failure to carry out this survey, renders the assumption unwarranted.

Secondly, the assumption that customers are not able to distinguish between butter and margarine is totally flawed. It is possible that servers are not reporting cases of complaints in which customers express to the company. That may be the case if the company operates a system that do not encourage honest feedback. What is the feedback mechanism put in place at the company, does it accommodate for anonymous complaints by employees? Do employees receive backlash as a result of giving negative feedback though honest. These are some of the questions that may be needed to ascertain the claims that customers do not complain when they are given margarine instead of butter. Indeed, there may be some customers that use a more generic term butter for either margarine or butter but the claim that customers do not complain has to be substantiated with evidence, less it amounts to a particularly poor assumption.

Furthermore, the memorandum fails to establish if butter is expense more that margarine. There is no data that shows the expenditure for both substance that warrants the conclusion that the removal of butter would increase profitability. Does butter cost so much compared to margarine, what is the cost of the fall out if it happens that eventually they lose a lot of their customer base since they plan to extend this unproven approach to the southeastern and northeastern part of the United States.

Finally, if we agree that indeed 2 percent represents a sizeable number of the population and that customers do not complain when margarine is replaced with butter. Assuming that this will be applicable to other part of the country is quite unwarranted. Failure to provide that the whole country is largely homogenous renders this particularly a poor advice.