Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Every person in this world is unique and has his/her own unique experiences. Due to these experiences, everyone has their own way of perceiving different things in life. By interacting with many different people we come to know about their life stories and we get to know about their perspective regarding life in general. Well, some of the views shared by people are similar to our own views but some are not that similar. In my opinion, I disagree with the claim that we learn more from the people with whom we share similar views due to two reasons.

To begin with, growth takes place outside of our comfort zone. For instance, people from a certain country would always find it difficult to relate to foreign culture at first. Because in a way, people with whom we share similar views are our comfort zone. We feel comfortable sharing our views with them as we know they are going to agree with us in most of the cases. But after a certain point of time, one needs to get out of his/her comfort zone to get the perspective of the other side. By exposing ourselves to different perspective and thinking logically regarding them we can broaden our mindset and grow.

Secondly, contradictory views help understanding the way of thinking and mindest of the people better if we give it a deep thought. For example, if two people with opposite beliefs sit together and discuss the reasons for their respective beliefs they could get the idea of why the person on the opposite side has that belief.

Although, I agree to the reason for the given claim that it is stressful to discuss with people of the opposite views but in a way it is