Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandals in today's modern society have been increasing at a rapid speed. The people who are involved in any such scandalous activities aim to gain financial or some kind of advantage through unethical means. This advantage may belong to the hard working class people who have the responsibilty to feed their families. It would be unfair if their hard earned money is just snatched away from them. Therefore, I disgree with the claim that Scandals are useful because they focus our attention to problems that are usually ignored for two main reasons.

First and foremost, the level of emotional and financial distress caused to the innocent, hard working people due to the scandals can not be compared to the problem faced by the government bodies. For instance, if a huge businessman frauds a bank by running away without repaying a huge loan and eventually the bank has to shut down, the people who saved their money in that bank in their respective bank accounts would never get their money back. In this way, the government and bank may come to know about their faults and problems but for the middle class people it might be at a cost of their entire life savings. This is clearly not worth it or fair.

Secondly, there are several other ways to address the existing problems in the modern society. If scandals are used to detect the problems, it would only encourage more and more people to be involved in such scandalous activities. For example, if a certain government does not address the scandals and treat them leniently, people in that state or nation would not work hard to earn their livelihood and just scam people around for easy money. This would create a unstable society where no one would choose to live in.

Although, the reason of the claim states that the scandals help to put lights matters which are usually ignored by the people who are suposed to deal with them. This is somewhat true but by no means the ideal way to find and deal with those problems.

In conclusion, Scandals and frauds are unethical, cause a lot of distress to people in general and should not be claimed as useful to focus attention on problems i