The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company suggests that in order to attract more viewers’ attention, the company should pour more funds in advertising next year. To bolster his recommendation, the director presents the fact that fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies and there were more positive critics from movie reviewers. The argument seems to be cogent at first glance, but on close scrutiny, it reveals several logical flaws which are based on precarious assumptions.

To begin with, the director cites a report from the company’s marketing department to indicate there were fewer people attending the company-produced movies. However, the director does not mention any details about the report. It is entirely possible that the report is based on an investigation toward the young generations, which can not represent the overall situation. If this is the case, it will definitely undermine the credibility of such a report. Moreover, even if the report is scientifically organised, fewer people attending Super Screen-produced movies does not mean the movies are less popular. Perhaps, local economy is facing a recession, which discourages people from watching movies in the cinema. Therefore, more detailed information about the report and local economic situation need to be provided in order to validate the movies produced by the company are less popular and thereby more advertising is needed to reverse this trend.

Secondly, the director presents that positive reviews about the movies increased during the past year. However, people nowadays have their own opinions about many things. Such reviews from professional critics(reviewers) may have little impact on people's decisions to watch movies. Moreover, people may depend on their friends or families’ evaluation about the movie to decide whether they will see a movie or not. Thus, unless the director proves that professional reviews are still important in influencing people’s decisions to watch movies, I will not be convinced by the recommendation made by him.

Finally, the director assumes that the problem lies not with the quality of the movies because of the increasing percentage of positive reviews. However, the quality of a movie can be evaluated from many aspects, such as commercial success, reviews from critics, artistic accomplishment, etc. Therefore, more positive reviews are not equal to a better movie. More evidences like the evaluation from artistic counterparts should be provided to justify the movies produced by the company still maintain a high standard, and thereby supporting the recommendation to introduce more advertising instead of improve the quality.

In sum, the assumptions the director makes lend little credible support for his argument. To buttress his recommendation, more details, such as the report and local economy, the effectiveness of the reviews and proof about the movies’ high quality, should be provided.