"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

The argument that the city prohibits skateboarding in Central Plaza so as to return to its previously high level is entirely logically convincing, since it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

First, the argument states that over the past two years, the number in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. A lot of things could have happened in two years, bigger malls and plaza could have sprung up offering people broader offers to shop. Nevertheless, a drop in the quality of goods might have shunned people causing the owners to lose business and forcing them to close down.

Second, the argument states that many plaza owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users. Their business decline could be caused by others factors other than skateboarding. It could be due to lack of innovative strategies, poor advertisement, squalid environments which could make the shoppers focus their attention elsewhere. On the other hand, the skateboard users could even increase sales in business.

Finally, the argument also states that there has been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism which could be as a result of the skateboard users in the Plaza. How can skateboard, an activity of personal entertainment result to nuisance and chaos? It is here that general skaters must be differentiated from the vandals. Occasionally, there could have been a collision between the skateboard users and the shoppers but it shouldn’t be generalized that the act of littering was mainly by the skateboarders.

Thus the argument is not completely sound. The evidence in support of the conclusion city prohibits skateboarding in Central Plaza so as to return to its previously high level does little to prove that conclusion, since it does not address the assumptions already raised. Ultimately, the argument could be strengthened by bringing up new ideas, cleaning up their environments and placing fascinating adverts to attract more shoppers.