"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

In order to save the decline of listener numbers, the passage says that WWAC should change the rock-music format that already had in the radio station to news and talk format for increasing the listener and serving the residents who recently move in to the listening area for their retirement life. But I think this argument is unconvincing.

First, the decline contributing to the rock-music format, article argues, is problematic. The music that the radio provide may be totally obsolete, causing the listener feeling bored to hear them again. Maybe, the younger listeners are not familiar with the old-school rock music, further losing their attention, a problem coming for the music's content instead of the format. For example, it is rare to hear about Linkin Park during the 21 century, and it is not to mention whether listeners are familiar with Guns N' Roses.

Second, because the local sales of recorded music implied the decline of listener, the argument claims, the radio station should get rid of the music format. However, in this era, the 21 century, music entertainment can be satisfied on the internet, so the decline in the local sales may be derived from the increase of click rate of the media on the internet. I spend a lot of time searching for music on YouTube and listen the music in front of computer rather than radio, weakening the assumption of the decline of local sales.

Third, the article assumes that introducing the news and talks shows for all the retired people moving into the listening area can brings the increase of listener numbers. However, this conclusion is racism. Retired people have their individual personalities and interests. Some like news, some like farming teaching talks, some like culinary course, but still some like rock music. If the retired people were DJs severing WWAC for two decades, they may be highly willing to listen rock music from the radio for enjoying their tea time.