The vice president for human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president."In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from thei

The reading passage asserts that the vice president proposes electronic inspection over employees to enhance their performances and the productivity of the overall company. However, the ideas and reasons presented in the reading are not convincing and laid upon unsubstantiated groundwork and in what follows the most compelling controversies are drawn.

First, the passage claims that electronic supervision would show internet usage if an employee consumes his/her time doing personal activities or not. Nonetheless, the author does not provide any reasons of how is it possible to differ between personal and non-personal usage. In this regard, there are plenty of applications in which update themselves automatically. Imagine an employee who wants to work with internet, at this time he is working on his/her duty on web-browser and the inspector can see whatever the employee see. However, some applications suddenly start to update themselves and neither the employee nor the inspector can understand this phenomenon. Accordingly, since windows update usually ran large amount of traffic data, at the end of the day, the vice president imagines that personal usage was the main cause of this event. Hence, finding the source of internet usage, to be intentionally and unintentionally is not applicable.

Second, the author in the argument says that, the preferred application can observe all working-hours. On the contrary, there are many fraudulent plan that a person can get rid of inspector application; for instance, installing new sneaky and stealthy application such as IDM-internet download manager- or OPERA, which could start to download specific application in an scheduled time. Imagine that an employee wants to go for lunch hour, and schedules one sneaky application to start download his/her favorites in that time. So, the application cannot understand any changes on the screen while the files are downloading. Hence, even though the implementation of some application may help to inspect an employee, but there are other application in which facilitate people to unethical favorites.

Third, the vice president in the argument did not address monetary matter of the company and also true definition of productivity. Indeed, inspectional application are one of the most expensive applications in which the company should consider. In this regard, this applications usually should be paid monthly and since the overall number of subscribers are high, they should include this expenses too. Also, it is commonly conceived that the productivity of people can be raised by having leisure time around 10 minutes for every 50 minutes. Therefore, the company cannot increase the productivity of its employees by data traffic limitation and also should evaluate the expenses of inspectional application.

In conclusion, as the above-mentioned examples have illustrated, the author's arguments cannot be accepted because, it depends on a number of premises each of which laid on shallow foundation and is questionable. Hence, to make the argument unblemished, the uncertainties and unambiguousness of the argument should be acknowledged.