Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

In the argument, the author bases the conclusion on false assumptions and less evidence, that Palean baskets were not unique to the village of Palea as they were also found in Lithos. The argument seems to be plausible but under deep reflection, it's full of errors and can be scrutinized objectively.

The author, initially, bases the conclusion on the foundings of archaeologists discoveries that no Palean boats were found is not conclusive and also only one reason to prove that Palean baskets are not unique cannot give such certainty. More evidence and details are needed to lead to the conclusion.

Additionally, it's possible that there are Palean boats in the region but archaeologist needs to excavate deep or need more time to find them. Yet boats are not found doesn't mean the opposite. Also, details about Lithos boats are also not provided, what if lithos had boats and they crossed the river to Palea then it's possible that they took baskets to lithos areas and basket remains unique to Palea village. There are more possibilities for the basket to be found in Lithos they need to be addressed and exploited enough to prove the author's claim but no such facts are mentioned.

Moreover, the author states that the Brim river is very deep and broad now, what was it before in Palean era is not given. Without knowing every aspect of the Brim river conditions during Palean time nothing can be concluded. It's possible when palean civilization established, the river wasn't much deep and broad then Palean didn't even need boats to take baskets to other places and hence, they are found in Lithos also. The author believes so hastily that the river hard to cross now than it would have been so before also, it's absurd, the whole argument is based on single reason and the author didn't support it with enough facts.

Lastly, the civilization gap of Palea's and Lithos is not stated. In what era didPaleans live and lithos live is not given, then the author cannot make the conclusion with certainty. As with enough time difference, it's possible that once a broad river is now completely dry or not so hard to cross. This objection completely renders this argument false.

With these fallacies and holes, the author didn't put a cogent argument to lead to a conclusion, it's possible that baskets were unique to Palens or they were not at all unique. But without many factual data to support either can be proved wrong. Hence, due to lack of details and broad assumptions authors claim is not valid.