Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to

The claim states that the past knowledge cannot support today decisions because we cannot make connection between them until we have some distance from both. I strongly disagree with this claim for many reasons which will be discussed in the following essay.

First, the things that happened in the past can happen again in the similar situations. For example, Thai government has tried to solve the violent situations caused by terrorists in the southern region of Thailand by using the army force to fight with those terrorists for many decades. Although, many terrorists were killed, the fighting caused more people in the region to be angry and more people joined the terrorist group. Then, Thai government changed the strategy by using the non-violent methods instead. Many teachers and social activists were sent to the area to educate the local people and improved the society in many ways. This method can dramatically reduce the violence in the region. If the government did not make the connections between the current situations and their past actions and changed the strategy, more lives would be lost without any better outcome.

Second, the knowledge from the past can shorten the time for solving new problems. For instance, when I worked as a process engineer in a polymer production plant, the plant had a serious problem in product quality control due to the impurities in the feed stream. I studied a lot of similar problems of other plants form books and websites and found that one of them solved this problem by installing a unit to separate the impurities from the feed stream. I applied this method to my plant and the problem can be solved in a short time. It might take several years for trial-and-error methods if I did not make the connection between the past problem of another plant and the problem of my plant.

Someone may argue that it is difficult to make a connection between the past and present until we have some distance from both. This statement is absolutely not true. From the above examples in the previous paragraphs, it can be proved that, if we have proper example situations in the past and correctly relate them to the present situations, we can apply them and solve the present situations easily.

All in all, I believe that it is not difficult to connect between the situations in the past and the present. Therefore, the past knowledge can help people to make the correct decision in the present.