Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: Great achievements by a nation's rulers, artists, or scientists will ensure a good life for the majority of that nation's people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim that the achievements of rulers, artists or scientists of a nation is an indicator of the greatness of a nation is a complex one. Some believe the accomplishments of higher-level individuals is an indication of a great nation and ensures a good life for its citizens. However, the achievements of rulers, artists or scientists of an area not sufficient to prove that its residents are also living a content life.

First, the outer perception of a country could disguise the truth of what it holds. Take into consideration the communist ruling party of China. The opinions of the residents of China do not hold much value in the decisions of the government. Because China has a rapid growing population, resources are rationed to its people. Even to the point where a one-child law was passed allowing each family to only have one child. The citizens of this country have no voting system or democratic party that listens to the people and the major decisions are made by the president. However, the economy of this country is thriving. China has the biggest exporting systems and delivers to most of the world. Although from the view of democracy, China is not flourishing, when closely examined the country continues to grow in its exports.

Furthermore, the luxurious lives of the famous individuals of a nation is not an accurate representation of the lives of the common people. For example, the stars in Bollywood films in India live extravagant lives with mansions, countless cars and servants. But a large number of the population is living on the streets with not even a shed to cover their heads nor food to feed their children. Those living under the poverty line in India do not claim to be living contentious lives, while the movie starts are. So, even though popular stars in India are reaching their goals, they are not an adequate representation of the majority.

Lastly, some may argue if leaders of a country are successful, the people are ensured a good life. For instance, there are many artists and scientists that came from European countries including Shakespeare, Galileo and Versace. But during the pandemic of coronavirus, Italy was leading the deaths for this virus. Thus, the health of the citizens was at jeopardy.

Though there are valid reasons to believe the surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, these points do not outweigh the opposing side. Therefore, these individuals do not accurate indicate the circumstances of its people or their achievements.