Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain y

Government is a body that governs the rules and regulations of a state in the interest of the people. It sets some targets for the common well being of all the citizens and tries to bring the less privileged at par with others. A government's main motive is to look after the needs of the people, best utilization of resources and implementation of ways for the development of the nation.

There are a few issues that every government has to deal with immediately, and some that need long term planning with foresight. It is therefore important for any government to segregate these issues to avoid chaos and to work efficiently.

If on one hand, the problem of unemployment needs immediate action, then on the other hand, the economic reforms should be made by anticipating the upcoming demands and problems. The government must try to foresee the future prospects of any project undertaken. It must be in a position to frame a tentative outline to meet the future demands, keeping in view the resources in hand. The borrowing or sharing of the latest technologies is done with an aim to have a smooth future. Since, enormous money is involved in adopting a technology and starting a project at the national level, like constructing a power plant, building a highway, importing or manufacturing aircrafts and ships, building a dam or railway line, the government cannot simply base them on the present demand and supply ratio. In fact, it should have a vision to see the future need and applications to avoid wastage of time and labor in the near future. Above all, it would be blocking the money too, if the plans and projects demand changes every now and then. For example, investing thoughtlessly in highways and good roads may need drastic changes owing to the increasing traffic. Thus, it would be wiser to anticipate the future of traffic on roads and accordingly invest in the different diversions on busy junctions, by-lanes and flyovers wherever necessary.

Challenges like illiteracy need to be taken care of immediately along with long term planning. If it is necessary to make the adults of today aware of the importance of education, then the government needs to anticipate the future and provide requisite facilities such that no one is disappointed by sending their children to educational institutions. Similarly, the law and order problems need to be tackled at times by an immediate amendment in the law. The provision of amendments in laws should be made with a futuristic approach such that the offshoots of similar situations may be handled as well.

The issues of poverty, natural calamities, terrorism, need immediate attention. If only plans for future are drafted to reduce poverty without taking care of immediate poor and malnourished, then the futuristic goals make no sense. In a similar fashion, if means are adopted to avert the situations of flood and famine without looking after the present victims of such natural disasters, then such a government is a disaster itself. The vice-versa being equally true, it is a sheer wastage of time, money and effort to wait for a disaster to occur, in order to provide relief to the victims. Thus, the government has a huge responsibility of focusing on both immediate problems of today and plan such that the anticipated problems of future are also efficiently dealt with.