Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In devel

As former Harvard president and lawyer Robert Orben had categorically stated “If you think education is expensive, try ignorance”, almost anyone can aver that education is one of the most important aspects of humanity. Without it, we can no longer demarcate ourselves from other animals on this planet. While no one can undermine the importance of education, but should government make it free for all? Though this may appear to be a noble task, on further scrutiny one may realize that disadvantages due to the implementation of this policy may vastly outweigh its advantages.

The first and foremost question that comes to anyone’s mind is: Whether it is economically feasible for the government to provide free college and university education to all? Can the government afford this without compromising on other essential services? Any government’s first duty is to first provide its citizens with the basic amenities such as water, electricity, roads and other essential infrastructure. Making university education available and accessible is more important than making it free. Thus, the government’s ability to afford is the most important factor to consider before embarking on the journey of implementing such an ambitious policy.

Another important facet to analyze is the influence on students due to the implementation of this policy. Would the students be as motivated to learn as they are now (because of education loans) even after the government avers to provide free college and university education to all students irrespective of their credentials. The answer to this conundrum lies in Psychology 101. Human is a lazy animal. Unless faced with adverse circumstances, nobody likes to change their habits and this trend has been observed throughout the annals of history. Thus, a student is most likely to become complacent and not work as hard as he would have if he’d taken an education loan to pursue his studies.

This is not to say that government should never make college or university education free for anybody. Meritorious students should be encouraged to pursue higher studies by giving them tuition waivers. It is very important to look in to the overall credentials of a student before awarding him with full scholarship otherwise scholarships would lose their sheen and ultimately students would lose the motivation to improve their academic performance. Moreover, universities are provided with grants to pursue research in key areas. If government starts funding education of all students, research grants may altogether stop and most universities may lose their interest in doing research work.

In a nutshell, a government completely funding students’ college and university education is highly ambitious and noble, however, one needs to consider various direct and indirect implications before implementing it. This policy’s disadvantages may far outweigh its benefits as it would induce a sense of complacency among students and varsities. Hence, complete tuition waiver must be given to only those who deserve it and not to all.