A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

The statement "A nation should require all of its student to study the same national curriculum until they enter college" depends on a great variety of things. While there are pros such as easy evaluation of student's progress and the fact that every school student knows almost the same number of subjects, there are cons which depresses the statement above. They have been explained below.

Every student that enters school these days are entering into not only an educational world but a competitive one too. They experience failures and successes and though these shape up every student, it proves to be a tense period for them too. They are constantly compared and those who get more marks are given more praises and considered elevated in a society. This same society treats the students who don't perform well in a negligent way that makes them feel weighed down and depressed. For example, Albert Einstein was kicked out of school because he wasn't well in studying. Now, he is one of the greatest geniuses in this world. Practical knowledge must be emphasized. Just a couple of theoretical exams wouldn't bring about successions in students. The curriculum set mustn't in any way affect the mentality of students.

Another factor which is to be considered is the geographic and historic nature of each state within the nation. Knowledge about the land students are brought up in must be encouraged. The study of languages must be encouraged too. In addition to the nation's national language, the knowledge of the native language must too be encouraged if at all there is a difference. For example, in India, there are a variety of languages. Hindi is the national language and is spoke widely only in the northern part of the country. Those states whose language changes must encourage both the study of the national as well as the native language.

Likes and interests differ in students. Advancements in technology are something we all come across every day. In addition to a set of predefined set of subjects, there must be other options, subjects that are of importance in today's world that students can take up as a result of their interests. These subjects too must be given equal importance and evaluated accordingly because not everyone necessarily needs to be an Abdul Kalam or Albert Einstein. We might turn out to have an emerging Picasso somewhere nearby too!

Today is the age of completion. Parents want their children to come up in the emerging field of the present day. In satisfying their wishes, they burden the children leading them to develop a hate towards those subjects and ultimately not do well in those subjects. Now, if these students were to study an extra subject that they have an interest towards, parents would be able to understand their wishes too. Since the syllabus is a monotonous unchanging set of subject whose portions don't get changed for decades, a sense of irking gets developed. Students who normally do well might start deteriorating.

Now on the other hand, the same curriculum ensures that when all the students study the same set of subjects, we can easily evaluate the performance of students, the entire process becomes simple and easy to go through. All students are treated equally and admission criteria becomes simpler. It provides the required standard to move to the next academic year.

Therefore, a nation should require all of its student to study the same national curriculum unit but distinction on the basis of mere marks shouldn't be encouraged. Those who study, according the society, subjects of less importance shouldn't be discouraged. Why, the world's greatest chef doesn't need to excel in Science, does he?