Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person’s age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

With the advent of urbanisation and constant change in technological growth, modern companies brought many new concepts into work culture. In this occasion, the modern work style appeared as a problem to the old generations and also slowed down the work pace. So the discrimination of older generation on any basis sparked the heated debate. I believe that ill-treating the older generations on any kind of concerns should be considered as severe act under the legal governance.

To begin with, with ever changing technologies the work requirement is upgrading in a rapid phase, the work institutions surprisingly dismissing the older employees to hire the younger generations trained with modern skills. It is a company’s duty to train their employees with the required knowledge and provide rightful time for the workers to cope up with the upgrades. For example, many it companies are hiring recent graduates for low salary rather than training its older staff. Therefore, it is clearly evident that modern firms are playing ruthless and smart strategies to make up with profits.

Furthermore, hiring an inexperienced management staff would lead to brain drain, as they replace the knowledge generations. Though the older generations lack the modern software grip, but had gained a immacuble knowledge over the years, that should be preserved for the companies own benefit. For instance, recent actions of firing the senior mechanics of an aircraft manufacturing company caused huge treat to the lives of travellers on the aeroplane. Seen in the light it is evident that discrimination of the seniors leads to great loss.

To conclude, it might be important to survive with the modern consequences that generate major profits, but the solution should never take the place of discriminating the older generations.