some teachers say students should be organised into groups to study. Others argue students should be made to study alone. What is your opinion.

Opinions are divided as to whether students should study in groups or not. It is my firm convince that different things suit different students and conditions.

The group study benefits students on two main aspects. Firstly, students’ understanding about knowledge they acquired can be improved and be more impressive through the group discussion. As a result, both the one who teaches and the one who enquired are able to learn more profoundly. Moreover, they can explore the solutions of some difficult questions together, taking the advantage of brainstorming. Secondly, studying in a group constructs a competitive atmosphere where a student’s concentration will not wander readily since he or she would like to complete the task more quickly and in a higher quality than others in a same group.

People who are in favour of studying alone emphasize efficiency. They think that students who study in groups may make idle chatter that influences the attention of every group member and study alone in a quiet environment can lead to tasks accomplished in a highly efficient manner. For example, it is common that a group meeting start at and end in gossiping, which actually is a waste of valuable time, while studying alone can finish more work by saving this kind of unnecessary time consumption.

In my opinion, those two methods both have merits and drawbacks as well. In order to achieve the optimal effect, students ought to choose between alternatives according to the specific circumstance, such as students’ preferences and teachers’ requirements, rather than stick to one way.