In countries where there is high unemployment, most pupils should be offered only primary education. There is no point in offering secondary education to those who will have no hope of finding a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is recommended that education services should be limited at primary level in nations facing high unemployment rate. I totally disagree with this policy due to its negative impacts on both the economy and the society.

From an economic perspective, making secondary education unavailable to the majority of students can be seen as an unwise decision because of an imbalance in labor structure it creates. Indeed, if most pupils were provided with primary education only, there would be a vast population having insufficient academic knowledge, allowing them to perform clerical works only. Consequently, the labor market would be dominated by blue-collar workers rather than white-collar employees, which leads to harsh recruitments for sweated labors and, therefore, unemployment may not be alleviated. Another disadvantage is that this makes states less likely to gain a competitive edge. Specifically, stepping into the 21st century, technological breakthroughs has been increasingly prevalent, production efficiency is being significantly upgraded by automation and the replacement of employees with machines, the advantages of which cannot be reaped by countries accomplishing those works manually.

From a social perspective, limited access to secondary education can be proved to be detrimental to the domestic tranquility. Firstly, not only does training programs offered by secondary schools focus on academic knowledge but also prepares youngsters for entering their adult life. Thus, as the shapers of a nation’s future, they are prone to face an austerity of soft skills, the drawbacks of which will be suffered by the whole country. Secondly, since education is considered to be a basic human right, any policy against its free access can be deemed as personal freedom infringement. Hence, if children are deterred from attending secondary schools, the authority may face a rage of criticism, leading to antisocial behaviors threatening social fabrics and raising a question mark over the order of law and constitution.

In brief, I strongly believe that people should oppose limitation of secondary education, since the bad influences it exerts are serious.