Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home leisure and work activities To what extend do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages

In nowadays being familiar with computers, the internet, and new technologies is just as important as being able to read and write. However, there are those who consider that information technology has overtaken our lives and that its disadvantages far exceed its benefits. In my opinion, it seems that the answer is not straightforward.

Information technology is on the rise and is everywhere in our ordinary life. First and foremost, the traditional ways of communication between people by post or telephone calls are being substituted by texts through various apps. This enables people all around the world to communicate and be in touch. Secondly, during COVID - 19 epidemic, the internet has given the opportunity to millions of enterprises and people around the world to continue working and providing their services remotely. In times of crisis, information technology has kept human societies functioning and efficient.

On the other hand, there is strong criticism of the usage of the internet and its various apps by certain individuals. More specifically, lots of social network applications, such as Instagram or tik-tok, are used by teenagers in order to make fun and humiliate their peers. In addition, lots of cases have been reported, where young men and women have been extorted through these apps for money by people close to their social environment. All these instances consist a negative influence and a danger towards our society, but should not prevent people from familiarizing themselves with new technologies.

In conclusion, information technology has brought many positive developments in our lives that far outweigh the drawbacks. Although online bullying is alarming, we cannot deny how much the internet helps us to communicate and do business with people all over the world. We should encourage further development of new technologies, as well as the introduction of new controls and security measures that will minimize the threats.