Nowadays people mostly use cars rather than bicycles as a transportation preference What effects are caused by this trend What can be done to encourage the public to use bicycles

Usage of motor vehicles such as cars becoming more popular in current days due to people consider it as a self esteem need and there is lot of developments in cars to make them easy to drive.

There are many consequences of selecting cars as a transportation method. For example, if people start to shift from bicycles which are much eco-friendly method of transportation to cars, then the pollution levels also start to increase resulting in environmental problems. The above issue becomes even worse when it comes to motor traffic on roads.

Another effect of preferring cars is, people becoming inactive which results in physical issues and social problems such as not maintaining a healthy weight. This is because, drivers tend to sit in one place when driving a car for a long period of time without any physical movement which may cause weight increase.

However, there are few measures that can be taken to encourage general public to use bicycles instead of motor cars. One is, to include bicycles in public transport system. That is to provide bicycles in main points, so people can use them by paying a certain amount as a rent and get a token and then return it at a different point after usage. In this instance, users need not to invest in buying a bicycle, instead they use the publicly available ones at a small cost. Authorities can even provide a concessional rate for using public bicycles to motivate the riders. Moreover, a convenient bicycle path can be constructed in order for the riders to ride conveniently without any disturbances from other types of transportation methods. They can even make ride companions when travelling to work or school which improves the social element of the society.

In conclusion, it is always believed that usage of bicycles has more advantages than using cars.