One of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many argue that an increase in fuel prices will solve the problem of the environment. While this idea could help reduce the number of harmful fumes, I maintain that this is not a sustainable and long-term solution. Instead, I believed that a global awareness campaign and making use of alternative clean energy are the more feasible option.

On the one hand, the world’s environmental problems can partly be solved by raising fuel costs. The increase in fuel prices means that the traffic of vehicles will decrease, especially for private vehicles. So, environmental pollutants factors such as exhaust emission or noise, etc. also improved. However, I think this is a short-term option even not feasible because limiting human needs is almost impossible. People can only limit travel for a short time but not forever because it is also related to many other demands such as work or hanging out. They will find ways to satisfy their personal needs such as finding fuel smuggling places or buying poor-quality fuel, which inadvertently will make the pollution problems worse. Moreover, traffic stagnation will greatly affect the production and transportation process in particular and the economy in general. Therefore, increasing fuel prices is not one of the good solutions to improving environmental problems.

On the other hand, causes of pollution are diverse, involving the use of plastic bags in shopping or chemicals in both agriculture and industry which contaminate both water and land. Therefore, the most effective solution would be running a worldwide campaign that raises consumer awareness about the environmental cost of their shopping habits and presses companies to reduce the consumption of noxious chemicals. Another solution suggested is to promote clean energy sources. Renewable sources such as wind, solar and nuclear are also good at solving the world’s environmental problems as they don’t produce many greenhouse gases. After all, aiming for long-term and sustainable solutions like the ones above is one of best way to solve environmental problems.

In light of the above arguments, I think that both the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. In light of the above arguments, I think that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. It is undeniable that environmental catastrophe partly becomes from fossil fuel vehicles, but the truth is, no one can afford to be without personal vehicles. To relish this challenge, I really believe that renewable energy and raising people’s awareness about protecting the environment should be considered as a feasible alternative.