Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education? Or is it the responsibilities of governments of poorer nations to look after their citizens themselves?

The wealth of developing countries really does not compare to that of developed countries, especially the UK or the US. To strengthen these developing countries, they need the support of the developed, by supplying food and education. The duty of their government is also required.

On the one hand, developed countries could help developing countries in many ways. They could send food directly to the location where inhabitants are in need; it could be an area suffering famine or flood. Moreover, they could transfer advanced technology and train local farmer to produce productively and efficiently their food. In addition, rich governments could donate the funds to build schools, vocational schools, and institutes to help inhabitants in poor countries gain access to a variety of human knowledge. Additionally, rich countries may grant the scholarships to good students in poorer countries so that they may bring their higher education back to develop their own countries.

On the other hand, governments of third world countries take primary responsibility for national development. Firstly, they should have a food emergency response plan to help their inhabitants in emergency cases. Besides, they should consider issuing some regulations to support their farmers in farming and trading, to help farmers compete with import food. Secondly, the government has to encourage their citizens to go to school to have literacy capability. In fact, literacy has an effect on society, and the expansion of the literacy rate helps to reduce inequalities both within and across countries.

In conclusion, to help developing nations grow out of poverty, it is clear that the aid from the developed nations and the role of the host government share an ultimate responsibility.