Some people believe that sports should be a compulsory at school, while others believe that it should optional. Discuss both sides.

Sport has been a field which arouses public attention for a few decades. While it is recommended to be an obligatory subject in training programs for schoolchildren, sport is also argued to be optional by other citizens.

On the one hand, there are two major reasons for which schools should adopt a policy forcing children to take up sports. From health perspective, sport has been considered to be a helpful physical activity that can tighten our muscles and burn exceeding calories. Therefore, researchers have indicated that if children play sports on a regular basis, they will be less likely to suffer from many dangerous illnesses, such as diabetes, obesity of cardiovascular diseases. In other words, when regarding sports as compulsory subjects, schools will enhance the role they play in health promotion for youngsters. From training perspective, thanks to sports, institutions are able to assure a comprehensive development for students. Indeed, collective sports like football or volleyball are expected to equip children with a whole array of essential interpersonal skills, ranging from teamwork to leadership, which an exam-oriented education often neglects.

On the other hand, others believe that sports should be restricted as an option only due to several causes. Firstly, parents often hesitate to allow their children to participate in sports because of their high probability of injuries. Specifically, if students suffer from these occurrences, they will be out of condition, negatively influencing or even interrupting their academic performances. Secondly, sport, which glorifies victories and superiorities, also raises question marks over its risk of moral character erosion. In fact, this will foster competitive spirits, which result in harmful manipulations for children in formative years like a win-at-all-cost attitude, aggressive behavior or cheating.

In conclusion, while making sports compulsory at schools will bring about advantages, it is also understandable if they are only optional.