Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some people insist that the subjects such as technology and science only need to be granted to study in the university as these technical subjects remain worthwhile in the future. I am totally in favour of the idea that students ought to be handed choices over the subjects. This essay will discuss both sides and support my opinion with relevant examples.

On the one hand, proponents claim that allowing vital subjects such as science and technology can improve the standard of life and prove highly convenient. To illustrate, if students succeeded in science, this subject would open excellent opportunities to become renowned surgeons who usually earn handsome salaries that remain considerably two to three times higher than the other professionals' salaries such as teachers, government workers and many others. In addition, as doctors give second life to a critically injured patients by performing successful lifesaving surgeries, they are often regarded as a god in most of the developing countries. Learning technology well in the university can allow students in the future to do jobs at the comfort of their home while completing other household activities at the same time.Therefore, choosing these crucial subjects proves how they can uplift the quality of lives of the students significantly.

On the other hand, I would argue that letting youngsters to select their favourite subjects has proved far more beneficial than preventing them from picking their best courses. Because students would analyse deeply, look for various resources and the rest others if they were permitted to select the topics. In other words, when they study with passion and great interest, regardless of any difficulties, they would never give up. Instead, many students are found to hold discussions with peers in order to find solutions. Although technical subjects can upgrade the general well being of lives of students in the future, forcing them to choose these courses against their interests may lead to severe mental pressure, stress and subsequently doom to complete failure. Moreover, such subjects only suit to those students who possess enormous talents, make great sacrifices and so on.

To conclude, although technical subjects can make life easy in the course of time, students who are made learnt against their concerns and enthusiasms ultimately tend to fail. So, students should be permitted to pick their own courses.