Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed. However, some people think that zoos are useful for protecting rare animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people opine that zoos are brutal and should be closed; however, others claim that zoos are beneficial for protecting rare animals, with which I am in complete agreement.

On the one hand, it is often believed that zoos should be closed. The proponents of this opinion highlight the artificial environment provided by zoos which might have myriads of detrimental impacts on animal's both physical and mental well-being. When animals are kept in captivity, they often have restricted areas to move around which is quite less in comparison with their natural habitats where unlimited moving, jumping and climbing are not curbed. Moreover, in many cases, animals live in groups in the wild. If they are put behind the bars without constructive interactions with their peers, they will be isolated, making them more depressed. Finally, what necessitates closing zoos, even more, is the point that, in many places, zoo-keepers are not trained properly. Such staff does not have the skills and knowledge required to fulfil their duties and responsibilities, causing unpleasant experiences for captivated animals.

On the other hand, some people think that zoos are indisputably useful to protect rare animals. They emphasise that zoos are well-designed and well-catered places which animals not only are looked after accordingly but also are kept safe of illegal hunting and poaching which might be the primary reason behind their increasing extinction. Furthermore, when rare animals are kept in zoos, they have a chance to benefit from rehabilitation and breeding programmes. That is to say, scientists can easily have access to study animals' behaviour and traits and help such creatures to return to life and reproduce again. These advantages do not exist for rare animals when they are living in their natural habitats.

In conclusion, after hashing out both points of views, it appears to me that zoos are quite influential for rare and endangered animals, as long as such places are equipped with well-educated staff and are monitored constantly.