Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is true that ex-prisoners can become normal, productive members of society. I

completely agree with the idea that allowing such people to speak to teenagers

about their experiences is the best way to discourage them from breaking the law.

In my opinion, teenagers are more likely to accept advice from someone who can

speak from experience. Reformed offenders can tell young people about how they

became involved in crime, the dangers of a criminal lifestyle, and what life in prison

is really like. They can also dispel any ideas that teenagers may have about criminals

leading glamorous lives. While adolescents are often indifferent to the guidance

given by older people, I imagine that most of them would be extremely keen to hear

the stories of an ex-offender. The vivid and perhaps shocking nature of these stories

is likely to have a powerful impact.

The alternatives to using reformed criminals to educate teenagers about crime

would be much less effective. One option would be for police officers to visit schools

and talk to young people. This could be useful in terms of informing teens about

what happens to lawbreakers when they are caught, but young people are often

reluctant to take advice from figures of authority. A second option would be for

school teachers to speak to their students about crime, but I doubt that students

would see teachers as credible sources of information about this topic. Finally,

educational films might be informative, but there would be no opportunity for

young people to interact and ask questions.

In conclusion, I fully support the view that people who have turned their lives

around after serving a prison sentence could help to deter teenagers from

committing crimes.